4 dacoits held; cash, car seized

Dakshina Kannada and Udupi police in a joint action have arrested four dacoits, who had robbed Rs 5 lakh from a group of people who had come down from Mumbai, near Kaup in Udupi.

Police said in connection with a fish business, four persons from Mumbai had come to Mangaluru to pay Rs 5 lakh to an individual. After they alighted from the train at Mangaluru Junction, they received a call from a man, who in turn asked them to reach Pumpwell by hiring an autorickshaw. Without suspecting foul play, the foursome headed in an autorickshaw to Pumpwell.

However, when they were ambushed by four people, who came in a car, on Amar Alva Road, near Pumpwell and decamped with Rs 5 lakh cash. 

Later, one of the victims dialed Kankanady police station and informed them about the dacoity.

The police in turn asked the man to file a complaint at the police station.

Based on the information provided, the police started searching for the car and received information on the car crossing Hejamady toll gate and sought the help from Udupi traffic police.

Police were successful in arresting the four persons and also seized the cash and the car. 

Sex racket: 4 held

The police busted a prostitution racket and have rescued four women at Bajpe. They have also arrested four persons.

According to DCP (Crime and Traffic) Uma Prashanth the arrested are Shivananda (45), a resident of Kuthyaru, Niranjan R Kotian (42), a resident of Panjimogaru, M B Ismail (35), of Kutharpadavu and Mohammed Abu Salim (42) of Manjeshwara.

Matka: 2 held

The police have arrested two persons engaged in Matka gambling near Barke Bridge in Mangaluru.

They have seized Rs 15,400 cash from the arrested.

The arrested are Prashanth Kumar (42) and Abdul Lathif (45), both residents of Mannagudda.

Gambling: 12 held

The Mangaluru South Police arrested 12 persons engaged in gambling near Marnamikatte railway bridge and seized Rs 8,380 cash.

The arrested are Ganesh (47), Sachin (42), Praveen (43), Bhaskar (60), Musthafa Sadabba Thodar (48), Uday (32), Shahanavaz (29), Kiran Kumar (50), Sudakar (64), Hemanth (32), Purandar (45), Praveen (40).

Comments (+)