Gandhi Gram Puraskar for 8 GPs in DK, Udupi

Gandhi Gram Puraskar for 8 GPs in DK, Udupi

Five gram panchayats in Dakshina Kannada and three in Udupi district have been selected for the Gandhi Gram Puraskar for 2017-18.

Ministry of Panchayat Raj and Rural Development has selected Mundaje (Belthangady), Balthila (Bantwal), Beluvai (Mangaluru), Kutruppady (Puttur) and Aivarnadu (Sullia) in DK and Yarlapady (Karkala), Hosadu (Kundapura) and Kadooru (Udupi) in Udupi district.

According to Kempe Gowda, joint secretary Department of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj, 3,542 GPs from Karnataka had applied. “The applicants had to answer as many as 150 questions. After scrutiny, highest scoring three GPs in each taluk were shortlisted and sent to the ZP CEO. A district-level committee was set up to visit the GPs and verify the information furnished.

The committee was asked to recommend one GP in each taluk for the award. Accordingly, 176 GPs are selected across the state. Seven were selected for implementing various schemes, including the Swachh Bharat Mission.

The department also assessed the success of state and Centre-sponsored schemes related to drinking water, health and hygiene, tax collection, women empowerment and sanitation.

The award will be conferred to the presidents and PDOs of the GPs at a function at the Vidhana Soudha banquet hall, Bengaluru, on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti. Each GP will receive Rs five lakh in cash, a citation and a certificate.