TRS to form government in Telangana

TRS to form government in Telangana

TRS to form government in Telangana

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) is set to form the government in the newly-carved-out state of Telangana which is slated to become a reality on June 2.

The regional party achieved an absolute majority in the Assembly polls with its candidates defeating their rivals by considerable margins. 
The ruling Congress fared miserably in the Telangana region with all its top leaders biting the dust including TPCC chief Ponnala Laxmaiah in Janagaon and Deputy Chief Minister Damodar Rajnarsimha in Andole.

The TRS has won 65 seats, Congress 17, TDP 15, MIM 7, YSRC 4, BJP 6, CPI 2 and others 3 in the Telangana Assembly which has 119 seats. The TRS wave has rooted out prominent Congress candidates including Jayasudha in Secunderabad, actress Vijayashanthi in Medak, Marri Sashidhar Reddy in Sanathnagar, former APCC chief D Srinivas in Nizamabad Rural, former minister Danam Nagender in Hyderabad and Sunitha Laxma Reddy Former Minister in Narsapur assembly segment.

In Telangana, almost all the prominent leaders of the TRS have registered victories with huge margins reflecting the general mood of the voters. Voters who preferred TRS to Congress to steer the newborn state for the next five years elected K Chandrasekhar Rao in Gajwel, T Harish Rao in Siddipet, and K Taraka Rama Rao (KTR) in Sircilla.

“We are indebted to the people of Telangana as they not only fought for Telangana but believed in the TRS. With great power comes great responsibility, we will work in accordance with the wishes of people. TRS will provide corruption-free governance.
Tomorrow the TRS Legislature Party will meet and then decide on our leader and when to take the oath,” KTR said.

While the TDP, riding on Narendra Modi wave, surprised everyone by performing rather well, the YSRC also sprung a few surprises in Khammam district, adjacent to Godavari and Krishna districts of Seemandhra.

The Majlis reasserted its dominance in 7 Assembly seats in the Old City. The BJP won 6 assembly seats including the one of T-BJP President Kishan Reddy in Amberpet Assembly segment where Congress stalwart V Hanmanth Rao was defeated. “We have not fared as we have expected in Telangana. We will analyze our poor performance,” Kishan Reddy said.

TPCC chief Ponnala said that he wishes the TRS well and a better future for the people of the 29th state of the country. He said that his party would analyse the reasons as to why people rejected Congress, even after the party fulfilled the demand for a separate state.