Party swap: 4 opposition MLAs join BJP in Jharkhand

 Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das shakes hand with Congress MLA Sukhdeo Bhagat after the latter joined BJP during 'Milan Samaroh' programme, in Ranchi, Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2019. (PTI Photo)

Four opposition MLAs in the Jharkhand Assembly, including two from the Congress, one from the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and an independent legislator joined the ruling BJP on Wednesday, party sources said.

Sukhdeo Bhagat and Manoj Yadav of the Congress, Kunal Sarangi of the JMM and Independent MLA Bhanu Pratap Sahi joined the BJP in the presence of Chief Minister Raghubar Das at the party office here.

The party's election co-in-charge of the state Nand Kishore Yadav and former union minister Jayant Sinha were also present. The sources said that another JMM MLA Jaiprakash Bhai Patel was supposed to join the saffron party on Wednesday but he did not turn up. Former Jharkhand director general of police D K Pandey also joined the BJP, senior party leader Pradip Sinha said. 

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)