Rajasthan Assembly Election Results: 8 things to know

The Opposition Congress is currently leading in 103 seats in Rajasthan, while the incumbent BJP is ahead in 74 constituencies.

The Congress won 100 seats out of 199 in Rajasthan, while the incumbent BJP bagged 109 seats. The party is yet to decide its chief minitser.

1. The ruling party never manages to hold on to power in Rajasthan. The assembly elections this time too are no exception.

2. Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje has won the Jhalarapatan seat against Congress’ Manvendra Singh, son of former External Affairs Minister Jaswant Singh.

3. Congress leader Sachin Pilot has won his first assembly election from Tonk. He was up against  BJP's lone Muslim candidate Yoonus Khan.

4. Muslim candidates were scarce in the recent elections. Yoonus Khan was the ruling BJP's lone Muslim candidate, while the Opposition Congress fielded only 15 candidates.

5. Former chief minister Ashok Gehlot contesting from Sardarpura could have been a magician had he not entered politics. He could still pull a rabbit out of a hat following today's result.

Read: Rajasthan Assembly Elections results: Congress all set to form government

6. The Congress won all three by-elections in Rajasthan this year, raising hopes of an upset.

7. In the 2013 Assembly elections, the Congress managed to win only 21 seats out of 200, while the BJP bagged 163 seats.

8. This time, the polling percentage in Rajasthan is 74.05%, down from 75.23% in 2013.


10 things to know about Madhya Pradesh elections 

7 things to know about Telangana elections

Rajasthan Assembly Election Results: 8 things to know

Chhattisgarh: 5 things you should know

10 things to know about the Mizoram elections

Comments (+)