Assembly polls: 5000 EVMs upgraded in city

Assembly polls: 5000 EVMs upgraded in city

PTI file photo for representation

The Election Commission(EC) will introduce 'Mark-3' an upgraded version of 5,000 electronic voting machine(EVMs) in the city for the Assembly polls on May 12. 

These new generation machines, manufactured by the PSU, BEML, will be used for the first time in polls, said BBMP Commissioner N Manjunath Prasad, who is also the District Election Officer for Bengaluru.

"EVMs will be updated on a regular basis. Recently, 5,000 voting machines were updated from Mark-2 to the Mark-3 version by the EC," he said.

"There is no difference in using these machines, it is just an upgraded version," Prasad clarified.

Nomination from today

The EC is all set for the nomination procedures scheduled to start from Tuesday. The last day for filing nominations is April 24.

Candidates can file their nomination papers between 11 am and 3 pm on all working days.

Do's and Don'ts

When the candidate is at a distance of 100 metres from the nomination office, he/she cannot be accompanied by more than three vehicles. While filling the nomination papers only five people are allowed to enter the returning officer's office.

The EC has directed the candidate to open a new bank account for all transactions. A candidate must only transact from this account and produce the details on a daily basis to the EC.

87.98 lakh voters added to draft voters list: 

The BBMP has received 2,82,369 application for voters list's additions, correction, and change of constituency from 28 February to 14 April.

"87.98 lakh people are being added to the draft voters list. The applications have been uploaded to Electoral Roll Management System (ERMS). A voter identity card for newly registered voters will be distributed through booths before 30 April," Prasad explained.

The EC has appointed 14 general observers (IAS officers), 19 expenditure observers (IRS officers) and three police observers (IPS officers) for 28 constituencies in the city.

"RR Nagar, Shivaji Nagar, Chickpete, Padmanabhanagar, Chamarajpet, BTM layout, Sarvagnanagar, Mahadevapura, K R Puram and Yeswanthpur constituencies have been identified as expenditure sensitive constituencies. One observer for these areas has been appointed," said Prasad.  

Know your polling station:

Citizens can find their polling station details by sending an SMS. The voters have to type KA EPIC <Voter ID number> and send it to 9731979899 to receive complete details of polling booths.

Voters can also find the details on the BBMP website.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily