Bescom to set up 11 EV charging stations

Bescom to set up 11 EV charging stations

Image for representation only.

Citizens need not come to Bangalore Electricity Supply Company Limited (Bescom) head office to charge their electric vehicles.

Under the second phase of the project, from October, the energy department will start the process to set up 11 EV charging stations in the city. It has chosen 11 locations, from the list of 123 shortlisted for the EV stations.

In the first phase of the project, it had set up charging points at its head office and at the Vidhana Soudha.

The places have been selected based on traffic, residential and commercial spaces surrounding them. The stations will set up on the premises of Bescom where infrastructure is easily available.

C Shikha, managing director, Bescom, told DH: “The 11 locations have been finalised, and tenders will be called in the next couple of days."

"We have set a target of a month to start the work. The stations will follow the set Bharat Standard norms for the electric vehicles,” she added.

The demand for charging stations is increasing. Not just for cars, but also for two-wheelers, especially after the rise of renting bikes.

Shikha said since there already have been delays, the locations have been chosen in such a way so that work can be completed at the earliest.

To set up the stations, the Bescom has chosen the places which are close to 11 KV lines and have sufficient space for two DC and AC charging stations according to the Ministry of Power Guidelines — space for a car and a two-wheeler.

In the coming days, the Bescom will look for spaces around BBMP head office, Metro rail parking lots, BMTC depots, bus terminals, BWSSB offices and other government offices.

Charging station locations

1- N4 Sub-division office, Peenya

2- C6 Sub-division office, Mathikere

3- C7 Sub-division office, Yelahanka

4- E8 Sub-division office, Banaswadi

5- Indiranagar division office, HAL 2nd Stage

6- Mahadevapura O&M office

7- S7 Sub-division office, Murugeshpalya, HAL

8- HSR division office, HSR 2nd Sector

9- BTM O&M Unit- 2, BTM Layout

10- Kathriguppe O&M office

11- BICC-2, DAS, near ESI, Rajajinagar