PM inaugurates general meeting of TWAS at Hyderabad

PM inaugurates general meeting of TWAS at Hyderabad

The Prime Minister gave away the TWAS prizes and medals to scientists in various fields, in recognition of their outstanding contributions. Over 350 scientists from 50 countries are taking part in the annual event, being held for the second time in India after 2002.

Singh distributed the India Science prize, on behalf of the Indian National Science Academy, to world-renowned statistician C Radhakrishna Rao. The prize carried a reward of Rs 25 lakh in cash and a 200 gram gold medal.

He was also presented the TWAS medal for being an eminent economist and promoter of science and technology. Andhra Pradesh Governor E S L Narasimhan, Chief Minister K Rosaiah, Union Minister of State for Science and Technology Prithviraj Chavan, TWAS president Jacob Palis and others attended the inaugural session of the four-day event.

Singh landed at the Begumpet airport here, at around 11:30 AM and was received by Andhra Pradesh Governor ESL Narasimhan, state Chief Minister K Rosaiah, Health Minister D Nagender, Hyderabad Mayor Banda Kartika Reddy, Congress MP V Hanumantha Rao, among others.

The Prime Minister will later proceed to the University of Hyderabad campus to lay the foundation stone for the prestigious Tata Institute of Fundamental Research campus.
He will return to the HICC helipad after the ceremony and board the chopper to Begumpet.

The state government will accord the ceremonial send-off at the airport when the Prime Minister would depart for New Delhi at 15:40 PM. Chief Minister K Rosaiah, his Cabinet colleagues and important leaders of the ruling Congress would be present at the send off. Union Law Minister Veerappa Moily, National Security Adviser Shiv Shankar Menon and Minister of State for Textiles Panaba Lakshmi also arrived with the Prime Minister.