3 Oppn MLAs quit ruckus probe panel

3 Oppn MLAs quit ruckus probe panel

One JD(S) and 2 Cong MLAs say it was set up in violation of rules

JD(S) MLA Sunil Hegde and Congress MLAs Rajashekhar Patil and Gopal Bhandari handed over letters to the effect to the speaker K G Bopaiah, chairman of the committee Appachu Ranjan and the Assembly secretary, at the first meeting of the committee on Thursday.

The committee comprises seven members, including four from the BJP. Hegde said that he and other two submitted resignations to the committee alleging that constitution of the committee was itself against the rule book of the Assembly. The complaint against ruckus in the Assembly was not tabled in the House, there was no debate on the issue and the Speaker constituted the committee without debating it in the business advisory committee.

Appachu Ranjan said that the resignations had been accepted. Four BJP members - S Muniraju, S R Vishwanath, Siddu Savadi, besides the chairman attended the meeting. They viewed the video footage of the incidents recorded on the day. Ranjan said the committee would meet again on Friday.

The committee had served notices on 15 MLAs, who allegedly created ruckus in the Assembly, and they were asked to submit reply by October 28. Ranjan said they had sought a month’s time to reply. The committee, meeting on Friday, will decide on their request, he said.