Incumbent Wadiyar seeks re-election

His opponent for the post will be Anil Kumble, former India skipper and legendary leg-spinner. Wadiyar has already filed his nominations for the November 21 polls.

Besides Wadiyar, former ICC international panel umpire AV Jayaprakash will contest for the post of secretary from his panel. Former India paceman Javagal Srinath will challenge Jayaprakash.

Among the other contestants, the Wadiyar group has finalised Sanjay Desai for the treasurer’s post while Dr Krishnamurthy and MK Panduranga Shetty will be fielded for the vice-presidents’ slots.

As things stand now, the Wadiyar group is keen to contest for all the 24 posts. Former India pacer Venkatesh Prasad will be one of the candidates for the vice-president’s post from Kumble’s panel.  Brijesh Patel, the current KSCA secretary, had announced that he would not contest the election while extending full-fledged support of his faction to Kumble’s panel that features a clutch of former cricketers.

“I have always backed players to be a part of the association. They are the right people to guide an association and hopefully, the new committee under Kumble, Srinath, Prasad and Dravid will take KSCA to further highs,” Patel had said recently.

However, with the last date for closing the nominations looming some conciliatory talks between the cricketers and Wadiyar’s group is also on. November 11 is the last date for withdrawals of nomination.

Comments (+)