Curtains down on Yuvajanothsava

A few participants create rumpus alleging injustice in selections

Folk artistes perform even as audience create a rumpus over selection of winners, in Mandya on Saturday.  Dh Photo

At the valedictory, the organisers announced the districts that have won the prizes in many categories.


A few participants created rumpus claiming ‘injustice’ for them in the selection of artists in some competitions including Kathak dance. They came to the dais and threw the certificates on the stage.

A girl who participated in the Kathak dance competition, climbed the dais along with her mother and shouted that injustice has been done. This created commotion for a while.

The organisers announced the list of the Kathak competition in the last eventhough that dance was in the fifth place of the list. This gave the room for suspicion among the participants.

When contacted, Dr Manjula, assistant director, Department of Youth Services and Sports, said the decision of the judges was final and it got nothing to do with the department.


Kumar from Chikmagalur claimed that the youth festival is basically for highschool students.

However, some the participants were above 30 years of age. He took strong objection for not following the age limit rule by the organisers.

Devaraj from Mysore said folklore is the mother of culture and there should be some guidelines in the selection. There are no guides to explain the rich culture of the folklore if any participant commits mistake.

Despite these complaints, the yuvajanotsava was successful. More than 1,000 students from all over the State participated in this event and exhibited their immense talent.

The winners would participate in the national-level youth festival to be held in Udaipur.


Bharathanatyam: Dharwad, Belgaum and Udupi districts.
Odissi: Bangalore City.
Manipuri: Kolar and Chikmagalur.
Kuchupudi: Bangalore City, Uttara Kannada and Chikmagalur.
Kathak: Bangalore City, Gadag and Chitradurga districts.
Folk songs: Mandya, Mysore and Chamarajanagar districts.
Folk dance: Mandya, Bangalore City and Gadag.
Hindustani Music: Uttara Kannada, Mandya and Bangalore City.
Karnataka Sugam Sangeet: Shimoga, Kodagu and Dakshin Kannada.

Individual winners

Tabla: Hegde(Uttara Kannada), B R Surendranath( Bangalore Rural) and Bhushan Guddadmutt from Dharwad.
Guitar: Salman Desai( Gadag), Tippesh  (Bellary) and Nagaraju( Dharwad).
Flute: K S Herambha(Kodagu), Subramanya(Bangalore) Puttaraj(Gulbarga).
Veene: H G Ganesh(Bellary), Bhagyashree(B’lore Rural) C Lalitha Mridanga: Vinod (B’lore), Nagendra Prasad(B’lore) and Raju from Kolar.
Harmonium: Supresh(Gadag), Puttaraj  (Gulbarga) and N Nagaraj from Kolar.
Sitar: Mohsin Khan(B’lore), Nivedita  G’barga and Sunil Damodar (Gadag).
Debate: Keshav(Mys), Lokesh Babulu (Raichur) and B S Vinay(Ch’nagar).
One act play: Shantala kalavidaru (Ch’nagar), Shivani Kalavidaru (Chikmagalur and Vedike tanda (Mandya).

Comments (+)