Hassan: Politicians' relatives in fray

Two women from same family contesting elections in ZP polls

Interestingly, the relatives of the six former MLAs are in fray in ZP polls this time. In Holenarasipur taluk, two women from same family are contesting from same constituency representing different political parties.

Sister in- laws slug it out

Rajamma, daughter of former MLA Doddegowda is contesting from Nidoni ZP constituency in Holenarasipur taluk on Congress ticket. Her sister in-law Shobharani  (daughter in-law of Doddegowda) is contesting on BJP ticket from same constituency. The voters are curiously awaiting polls and subsequently results in Holenarasipur taluk which is well known for family politics and being strong fortress of JD(S) in the district.

Fight with bigwigs

D Kalenahalli ZP constituency in Channarayapatna taluk has also emerged as the talk of the town as three women from well known political families are facing elections here.

The daughter-in-law of former minister H C Srikantaiah and former Congress leader G Puttaswamygowda’s daughter Rajeshwari is the Congress candidate. Kusumarani, a close relative of former prime minister H D Devegowda and wife of former ZP president and HDCC Bank president C N Balakrishna is the JD(S) candidate. It is learnt that Rajeshwari’s husband Vijaykumar also served as vice president of Zilla Panchayat of Hassan. Both women have prior experience of campaigning in villages of this constituency when their spouses contested in ZP polls earlier.

Kogilamane brothers

The other important ZP constituency which caught the attention of the people is Kogilamane ZP constituency in Belur taluk. Y N Krishnakumar, brother of MLA Y N Rudreshgowda is contesting on Congress ticket here.

The father of Krishnakumar  had earned reputation for his philanthropy in the region. Both the brothers began their political career in JD(S) and later on shifted to Congress in the last Assembly elections. Former president of Taluk Agricultural Produce Co-perative Marketing Samithi (TAPCMS) B D Chandregowda is contesting on JD(S) ticket, and potato businessman Anandappa is the BJP candidate.

Jyothi Gurudev, wife of MLC Gurudev contesting on BJP from Alur ZP constituency, while BJP leader Hullalli Suresh is contesting on BJP ticket from Salagame in Hassan taluk. Interestingly, Devendra Kumar, brother of MLA H S Prakash withdrew his nomination paper from this constituency.

Comments (+)