CMC chief election put off

CMC chief election put off

JD(S) and Congress cry foul over election officers decision

The BJP members coming out of the meeting

As soon as the meeting dissolved, the BJP members walked out of the meeting hall. While the Congress-JD(S) alliance members slammed the Election Officer for taking such a decision to dissolve the meeting. As a precautionary measure, the DC had clamped prohibitory orders under Section 144 CRPC in and around CMC building to avoid any untoward incidents.

As the meeting commenced at 11 am, the Election Officer Dr M R Ravi took down the signature of all the members and started the election process. However, as the BJP members had torn the nomination papers on December 22, it could not be verified under the KMC Act 1965 Section 6. “As the nominations have been damaged, the meeting can not be continued. Fresh time table of the election to the post of CMC President and Vice-President will be announced as per Section 3 of the KMC Act 1965,” said Dr M R Ravi.

As the meeting was dissolved, the BJP members led by MLA M P Appachu Ranjan left the meeting hall. However, the Congress-JD(S) alliance members shouted slogans against the Election Officer and alleged that he has been acting as a puppet in the hands of the BJP. The BJP had joined hands with the Election Officer in postponing the election, they alleged.

Congress member K G Harish had identified himself with the BJP. Independent member Prathibha Shetty had expressed her support to the BJP members. However, the BJP members Latha Bangera and B P Manjula remained absent to the meeting.  

The Congress-JD(S) alliance had 17 votes. Those who were present were H M Nandakumar, T M Ayyappa, A C Devaiah, Abdul Razak, Sunil Nanjappa, Mayamma, Bharmavathi, Dhanalakshmi of Congress, K V Ashraf, Ashrafunnisa of JD(S), Chitra Devaraj of BSP, Khathija of SP, independent members Muneer Ahammed, K T Baby Mathew, MP H Vishwanath, MLCs M C Nanaiah, T John.

The BJP could fetch 16 votes if the election was conducted. The members who attended include MLA M P Appachu Ranjan, Congress candidate K G Harish, P D Ponnappa, Vasanth Keshva, Shivkumari, Rani Machaiah, B P Pradeep, B M Rajesh, K S Ramesh, H B Vijaykumar, Subramani Umesh, B K Arunkumar, B M Sathish, independents Unnikrishna, T S Prakash, Prathibha Shetty.