Narwal, Mishra give North Zone control

Narwal, Mishra give North Zone control

Even as Ravindra Jadeja hit an unbeaten 170 off 242 balls, studded with 21 fours and five sixes, West’s first innings folded for 392 in reply to North’s 460 all out at the Moti Bagh stadium as Narwal finished with figures of five for 103 and Mishra bagged three for 108 runs.

At stumps on day three, North were comfortably placed at 191 for three in their second innings -- lead of 259 runs -- with Mithun Manhas batting on 48 and Yashpal Singh unbeaten on eight.

Earlier, resuming at 176 for five, West faced an uphill task to avoid the follow-on, but overnight batsman, Jadeja saved the home team team from humiliation with his gritty knock.

Resuming the day, another overnight batsman Pinal Shah, manged to add only six runs to his overnight score of nought, before becoming the first casualty of the day.

Jaidev Unadkat (13) and Bhargav Bhatt (18) failed to remain at the crease for long but the duo shared brief but crucial partnerships with Jadeja before falling victims to Mishra. However, Jadeja, who resumed on 62, held on and completed his century.

Brief scores: North Zone: 460 all out in 130.5 overs and 191/3 in 39 overs (Sarul Kanwar 53, Shikhar Dhawan 53, Mithun Manhas 48 n.o.) vs West Zone (O/n: 176/5 in 41 overs): 392 all out in 87 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 30, Wasim Jaffer 53, Ravindra Jadeja 170 n.o., Murtaja Vahora 43; Joginder Sharma 2-95, Sumit Narwal 5-102, Amit Mishra 3-108).