Law university syndicate set up

Law and Justice Secretary to be one of the members

 According to a notification issued by the Governor’s office, Karnataka Law University Vice-Chancellor J S Patil will be the ex-officio chairman, while S C Nandimath Law College (Bagalkot) Law Faculty Dean V R Shirol (under Section 29 (3) (c) of Karnataka Law University Act), Vunki Sannarudrappa Law College (Bellary) Principal S S Patil, and PES Law College (Mandya) Principal C Krishnappa (under Section 29 (3) (b) of Karnataka Law University Act) are the vice-chancellor’s nominee.

Govt nominees

The State government nominees to the syndicate are, T S Kwatihalli (advocate, Dharwad), A M Surya Prakash (advocate, Bangalore), K Rama Naik (advocate, Hosur, Shikaripur taluk), B V Pavate (advocate, Hubli), and Meera Padke (advocate, Bangalore).
Karnatak Arts College (Dharwad) former principal Usha Murthy and Nehru College (Hubli) former principal Abdul Kareem are the Chancellor’s nominees.

Law, Justice and Human Rights Department secretary, Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation Department secretary, Education secretary, and Collegiate Education Commissioner or additional commissioner would also be the members.


Term of office of these members will be three years or until a new syndicate is re-constituted. However, the term of office of vice-chancellor’s nominee under Section 29 (3) (c) of Karnataka Law University Act will be one year.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0