Karnataka Repealing and Amending Regional Laws Bill passed

The Bill is aimed at repealing certain regional laws in force in the former states of Bombay, Coorg, Hyderabad, Madras and Mysore before November 1, 1956 and continued in force under section 119 of the States Reorganisation Act 1956 (Central Act 37 of 1956) in the respective areas of those states which are now part of Karnataka.

The regional laws repealed include 153 Belgaum Area Regional Laws, 23 Coorg District Area Regional Laws, 96 Gulbarga Area Regional Laws, 175 Mangalore and Kollegal Area Regional Laws and 92 Mysore Area Regional Laws.

The Government had constituted a committee headed by K R Chamayya, former Law Secretary and former Vice Chairman of Karnataka Administrative Tribunal to suggest repeal of all obsolete regional Acts in force in the different areas of the state including Belgaum, Coorg District, Gulbarga, Mangalore, Kollegal and Mysore Areas.

The Committee also recommended to amend 12 Acts of different regions and extend the provisions across the state. This included the Bombay Hindu Heir's Relief Act 1866, the Bombay Prevention of Excommunication Act 1949, the Land Revenue Act 1964 and Mysore Transfer of Property Act 1951.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Deccanherald.com/news/lok-sabha-elections-2019 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0