CEC 'informed' of decision to withdraw cases

CEC 'informed' of decision to withdraw cases

Returning officers for the by-elections in five constituencies have been appointed

It is said the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Karnataka, has communicated the information to the CEC as soon as the government decided to withdraw the cases. However, so far there has been no response from the CEC.

Recently the State Cabinet withdrew cases in which ministers Janardhana Reddy, Sriramulu and leader of Opposition Siddaramaiah others were accused of violating the poll code.

The CEO is also said to have informed the CEC that if the government is allowed to withdraw such cases, nobody would take the Election Commission and model code of conduct seriously in future.

CEO Dr C S Suranjan, however, refused to confirm whether he had conveyed the information to the CEC or not. But he only said “the issue, if necessary, will be brought to the notice of the CEC.”

Calendar of events

Dr Suranjan said the Election Commission has announced calendar of events for the by-elections to five Assembly constituencies. The model code of conduct has come into effect since the elections were declared. The model code of conduct would be in effect in four districts - Urban Bangalore, Gulbarga, Ramanagara and Chamarajanagar, where five constituencies are going to by-polls.

Returning officers for all the five constituencies have been appointed. Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike special commissioner (Dasarahalli zone) is the Returning Officer (RO) for Govindarajanagar. Deputy Director of Khadi and Gramodyoga in Gulbarga is the RO for Chittapur.

Assistant Commissioner of Ramanagar sub-division is the RO for Ramanagara. Special Land Acquisition officer in Ramanagar is the RO for Channapatna. Assistant Commissioner of Kollegal sub- division is the RO for Kollegal.

Nomination papers will be accepted between 11 am and 3 pm on all days from July 22 to 29.

The EC requires over 6,000 staff to conduct the elections. Government employees working outside the constituency but within the respective districts would be deputed for the election duty. Suranjan said the Commission has acquired required number of EVMs and indelible ink.

One day left for enrolling in list

Just one day is left for the public to submit their applications (form 6) to enroll their names in the voters’  list.

The last day to file applications to enroll names in the voters’ list for the by-election is July 20. Chief Electoral Officer C S Suranjan, on Saturday, said inclusion of names in the electoral roll meant for the by-elections would end on the last day to file nominations.

Since July 29 is the last day to file nominations, the form 6 should reach revenue officers concerned before July 20, he explained.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)