52 trains cancelled in north India

52 trains cancelled in north India

The prestigious train, a sought after among commuters between Delhi and Lucknow, was cancelled for the first time in decades since yesterday due to the ongoing agitation by Jat Mahasabha at Kafurpur station on Moradabad division, according to Northern Railway.

He said agitations in several other pockets have only worsened the situation for railways.
The agitation is also being reported from Butari station on Amritsar- Jallandhar section, between Narvana- Ghaso and Rohtak-Bhiwani section of Delhi division and between Hansi-Satrod and Sadulpur-Hisar sections.

The situation has raised the worries of power producers in Harayana too with a couple of power plants in the state reporting a depleting stock of coal due to disruption in rail movement, said a railway spokesperson.

The Jats are demanding 27 per cent reservation in Central jobs under the OBC category, with their agitation completing a week today.

According to the spokesperson, 29 trains were diverted through other routes today and a few others terminated in different stations.

Trains which were cancelled today included Varanasi-New Delhi-Varanasi Kashi Vishwanath Express, Bareilly-Bhuj-Bareilly Ala Hazrat Express, Lalgarh-Guwahati Awadh Assam Express, Kathgodam-Delhi-Kathgodam Express, Jaipur-Chandigarh Garibrath Express etc.

The spokesperson said three trains will remain cancelled tomorrow and six trains will be diverted.

Worried over repeated train disruptions, Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee in her Budget this year announced two new trains and two new projects as a special package for those states who ensure trouble-free train movement.