Govt rules out forming States Commission to create small states

Minister of State for Home Gurudas Kamat also said that the Central government is not considering a general reorganisation of the states at this point of time and made it clear that it has not received any proposal from any state government for creation of any new state.

He, however, said demands and representations have come from time to time from various individuals and organisations for creation of new states like Telangana in Andhra Pradesh, Vidarbha in Maharashtra and Bundelkhand in Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.

The other demands received include creation of Bhojpur in east Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Bihar, Saurashtra in Gujarat, Coorg in Karnataka, Koshalanchal in western Orissa, Gorkhaland in West Bengal, Mithilanchal in North Bihar, parts of UP and West Bengal, Purvanchal, Harit Pradesh, Braj Pradesh and Awadh Pradesh comprising various regions of UP.

"Government takes decision on the matter of formation of new states after taking into consideration of all relevant factors. Action by the government would depend on the felt need and general consensus," Kamat told Lok Sabha.

Narendra Modi or Rahul Gandhi? Who will win the battle royale of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Get real-time news updates, views and analysis on Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on 

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram with #DHPoliticalTheatre for live updates on the Indian general elections 2019.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0