AIADMK set to contest 160 seats

AIADMK set to contest 160 seats

Jayalalitha in fray from Srirangam

In a late night development on Wednesday, the CPM and the CPI disapproved of the AIADMK announcing the list even before identifying the seats  for both the Left parties. The State CPM and CPI Committees will meet here on Thursday to discuss their next course of action.  

This will be the sixth time that Jayalalitha will be running for the Assembly polls in the state, this time from Vaishnavite centre from where her mother’s ancestors hail.

In a surprise announcement on Wednesday evening, ‘Amma’ released the AIADMK’s candidates for 160 seats, which implied that the MDMK led by Vaiko has not responded to her party’s final offer of seats and has thus been left out of the alliance.

This is because Jayalalitha has already allotted 41 seats to the actor Vijayakant founded DMDK, 12 to the CPM, 10 to CPI, and the remaining 11 seats to a host of smaller parties including Dalit outfit ‘Pudiya Tamizhagam’ and actor Sarath Kumar’s ‘Samathuva Makkal Katchi’.

Many of the former AIADMK ministers in her earlier Cabinet and sitting MLAs have been re-nominated by Jayalalitha this time.