AIADMK allies upset by unilateral announcement of candidates

AIADMK allies upset by unilateral announcement of candidates

The DMDK leader, Vijayakant who is understood to have expressed his displeasure over AIADMK's announcement, had been consulting his party cadre which had gathered in the party headquarters here.

The leaders of the Left parties, G Ramakrishnan (CPI-M) D Pandian (CPI), and Kathiravan of All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) alongwith Puthiya Tamizhagam leader Dr K Krishnasamy and All India Moovendar Munnetra Kazhagam leader Dr N Sethuraman were holding talks among themselves and planned to meet Vijayakant jointly to evolve a common strategy.

These parties were said to be favouring a Third Front if the AIADMK did not relent and withdraw its candidates from seats these parties intended to contest from.

In the list of 160 constituencies the AIADMK had taken six of sitting CPI (M) MLA seats including that of Dindigul represented by party's Floor Leader in Assembly, K Balabarathy, Mannargudi represented by V Sivapunniyam, CPI Floor Leader besides three other seats including Thiruthuraipoondi, considered as a CPI bastion.

The MDMK headquarters here wore a deserted look as AIADMK had virtually shut the door on it with a meagre offer of eight seats against a minimum of 21 demanded by the Vaiko-led party.

The leaders of these parties were sore with the manner in which their parties were treated by AIADMK leader J Jayalalithaa.

AIADMK leadership is tight-lipped over the sudden development.
The CPI-M had expressed "shock" on Wednesday over Jayalalithaa announcing her party candidates, naming aspirants for constituencies that were part of its wish-list. The CPI had also expressed displeasure.