Congress holds edge in Bangarpet by-election

Panchayat poll results reflect increased strength of party currently
Last Updated 26 March 2011, 18:48 IST

The Congress votes were, for long, being split among various parties, including the BJP after the saffron party gained a foothold in the constituency.

The party’s strength increased after the BJP government came to power and this reflected in the results of the Zilla and Taluk Panchayat polls.

With Narayanaswamy contesting as the Congress candidate, scores of workers from other parties are joining the Congress, thus helping the party’s cause.

Union Minister K H Muniyappa, former Zilla Panchayat (ZP) member Ramachandra, ZP member M S Anand and Bisegowda of Huttur hobli are expected to bring in votes for the party.

MLC V R Sudarshan, besides leaders like Nazeer Ahmed and former MLA Nissar Ahmed can also be expected to add to the party’s kitty.

C Venkateshappa, a resident of Bhuvanahalli of Boodikote hobli may be contesting as the
JD(S) candidate. But there seems to a Congress wave even in Boodikote hobli. Venkateshappa’s son B V Krishnappa is a Congress member of the ZP.

It may be said that the real contest in Bangarpet will be between Congress and BJP. With local BJP leaders not being actively involved in the campaign, the advantage is with the Congress.

Former Zilla Panchayat president Bisegowda is expected to bring in Vokkaliga votes for the party.

Muniyappa’s role crucial

Union Minister K H Muniyappa is camping in Bangarpet for the last four days.
Muniyappa is making all efforts to get his party’s candidate K M Narayanaswamy elected in this by-election.

The BJP candidate has faced six Assembly elections and has contact with leaders in all parties, having been a member of many parties. He also knows the pulse of the people in the constituency.

Thus, it will be a challenge for Narayanaswamy, contesting polls for the first time, as also Muniyappa himself, who will be guiding his party candidate all through the polling process.

(Published 26 March 2011, 18:48 IST)

Follow us on