Awards for Kakodkar, Kudchadker, M V Kamath

Awards for Kakodkar, Kudchadker, M V Kamath

The distinguished achievement awards are being given annually by the Dr T M A Pai Foundation. The Distinguished Achievement Awards were presented to former Chairman of Atomic Energy Commission Anil Kakodkar, former Dean of IIT, Mumbai, Arvind Kudchadker, and former Chairman of Prasar Bharati M V Kamath.

Former secretary of Dr T M A Pai Foundation H V Kamath was given the Distinguished Achievement Award posthumously.

The Dr T M A Pai Best Book Award was given to Melvyn Rodrigues, while the Appreciation (Book) Award was presented to Ramesh G Laad. Gerald Pinto received the Appreciation (Book) Award on behalf of writer Gerry D’Mello.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr Kudchadker said that there was a need for paradigm shift in the education sector. The country is on the verge of becoming a global power.

The global power will require an outstanding education system.

However, the present education system is outdated in the country. The education system should become student-centric by development research activities.

The universities should give way for multidisciplinary centres of learning. The global leadership will require a dynamic workforce that was imaginative, creative and innovative, he said.

Manipal University Chancellor Ramdas Pai was present.