EB rally to hold Jayapura

EB rally to hold Jayapura

Persipura Jayapura dominated the first half after taking an early third minute lead through Titus Jhon Londouw Bonai but East Bengal equalised through Sahni in the 46th minute.

East Bengal finished last in the group with three points, while Persipura Jayapura garnered 11 points from six matches to qualify for the knock-out round of 16.

Bonai struck from a nice square pass by Ian Kabes to give the visitors an early lead. Playing without their star striker Tolgay Ozbey, who was suspended, East Bengal frontline missed the Australian even as they had some good share of opportunities.

But after the changeover, East Bengal equalised when Sahni utilised a Sanju Pradhan cross from the right to head the ball home.

Baljit had come in place of Saikat Saha Roy in the 37th minute.

Crucial clash

Struggling for form after their opening match win, I-League champions Dempo face a do-or-die situation in their last group league tie against Al Ansar of Lebanon in the AFC Cup on Wednesday.

Armando Colaco’s side, who are on four points from one win and one draw, still have a chance to advance to the round of 16 if they beat Al Ansar and Nasaf FC defeat Al Tilal in another Group A match at Karshi, Uzbekistan. Nasaf FC, who have already qualified for round of 16 knock-out stage, have secured 15 points.

Dempo need nothing less than a win. If Dempo beat Al Ansar, they will secure seven points and will go through the knock-out stage while the Lebanese side, who have won two of their five matches so far, will end on six points.