Tennis: Aashika, Sangeetha upset top seeds

Tennis: Aashika, Sangeetha upset top seeds

WINNER: Unseeded Aashika D Urs returning the serve of Nikita Deshmukh at the ‘Andolana Cup’ at Mysore Tennis Club, in Mysore on Tuesday. DH PHOTO BY PRASHANTH H G

In a major upset, fifth seeded Nikita Deshmukh of Gujarat lost to unseeded Aashika D Urs by 2-6, 7-5, 7-6 in the Girls Under -16 pre quarters category, at the ‘Andolana Cup’ - All India National Ranking Talent Series and State Ranking Tennis Tournament, here on Tuesday.

Among the Under - 18 pre quarters category, unseeded Sangeetha K S beat eighth seeded Noopur Shinde by 6-2, 6-3.

First round upsets

The first round of boys Under-18 witnessed a huge upset with unseeded player C Madan Mohan beating the first seed S Raghavendra in straight sets. Mohan defeated Raghavendra 6-2, 7-6.

In another match, Vigneshwaran thrashed sixth seeded Naesar Jewoor 6-1, 6-1 to enter the second round.

Third seed Pranav Divakar lost to Kishen S by 6-3, 6-1.

In the boys Under-16 category, the match between unseeded Tulsiram C and eighth seeded Vibhuvarsh T extended extended into the third set, with Tulsiram beating the latter by 7-6, 5-7, 6-4.

Vasudev Vijayaraman overcame fourth seeded Avinash Bhaskar by 7-6, 6-2 to enter the second round.

In the first round of girls U-16 category, eighth seeded Lakshmi Nikitha showed her supremacy on court by thrashing Bhoomika Shree by 6-0, 6-0.


Boys Under - 16 Second Round:

(S-1) Suraj R Prabodh beat Anirudh B by 6-2, 6-1.
(S-6) Madan Mohan beat M S Rakshith by 6-1, 6-0.
(S-3) Siddarth Reddy beat Poorva S Kumar by 6-2, 6-3.
(S-5) Karthik S beat G Venkatesh Prasad by 7-6, 6-3.
Tulsiram C beat Prateik R by 6-1, 6-2.
Vasudev Vijayaraman beat Chiranthan by 6-3, 6-4.
(S-7) S Kishen beat Adithya S Prakash by 6-4, 7-5.
(S-2) Antony Savio beat Hanivarsh by 6-2, 6-2.

Boys Under - 18 Singles Second Round:

C Madan Mohan beat Poorva S Kumar by 6-2, 6-1.
(S-8)  Suraj R Prabodh beat Rohit S Bagnali by 6-0, 6-0.
(S-4)  Goutham Ramkumar beat Arjun M by 6-2, 7-5.
(S-7) Siddrath Reddy beat Anirudh B by 6-4, 7-5.
Vigneshwaran R beat Avinash Bhaskar by 6-0, 6-3.
(S-3) Mahesh Bathija beat Vishesh Shastry by 6-1, 6-4.
Vasudev Vijayaraman beat Kishen S by 6-3, 6-3.
(S-2) Antony Savio beat Nawaz Syed Abraar by 6-1, 6-2.

Girls Under - 16 Pre Quarters:

(S-1) Lavanya Sarvan beat Harshitha by 6-0, 6-1.
(S-7) Suma Priyan beat T M Priyadarshini by 6-3, 6-4.
Shika N Singh beat Namratha G by 6-1, 6-1.
(S-6) Kanishka Chawla beat Soha S by 6-2, 6-2.
(S-4) Varunya Chandrashekar beat Jyothi M by 6-1, 6-1.
(S-2) Praneetha C S beat Amita S Siva by 6-0, 6-1.
Aashika D Urs beat (S-5) Nikita Deshmukh by 6-2, 5-7, 7-6
Lakshmi Nikita (S-8) beat Samradni Dahe 6-4, 6-3.

Girls Under - 18 Pre Quarters:

(S-4) Shika N Singh beat T M Priyadarshini (Walk over).
Sangeetha K S beat (S-8) Noopur Shinde by 6-2, 6-3.
C S Praneetha beat Jyothi M by 6-0, 6-2.
Varunya Chandrashekar beat Honeyshya R V by 6-0, 6-2.
(S-7) Kaniska Chawala beat Lakshmi Nikita by 6-1, 6-1.
Lavina Chawala (S-3) beat Samradni Dahe by 6-2, 6-2.

Boys Under - 18 Pre Quarters:

(S-4) Raghavendra and Vigneshwaran beat Vijesh Sastry and Srinag by 8-0.
Chiranthan and Rohit beat Karthik B and Karthik S by 8-4.
Nawaz Syed Abraar and Poorva S Kumar beat Rakshith M S and Hanivarsh by 8-3.
F Madan Mohan and Vasudev Vijayaraman beat Sachin V and Aashlesh by 8-0.
Siddrath Reddy and Avinash Bhaskar beat Aditya and Vikhuvarsh by 8-1.
Kishen S and Mahesh Bhathija beat Anirudh and Tulasiram by 8-5.