Karunanidhi, Jayalalithaa lead

Karunanidhi, Jayalalithaa lead

DMK president Karunanidhi, contesting from his home town Tiruvarur for the first time, was leading with over 8,000 votes. Jayalalithaa, the AIADMK chief who contested from her ancestral town Srirangam, was leading over her DMK rival with over 2,000 votes.

Actor-turned-politician and founder of DMDK party A. Vijayakanth is also leading his rival in the Rishivandiyam seat.

DMK ministers like M.R.K. Paneerselvam, Poongothai Aladi Aruna and others are trailing  their rivals.

DMK's senior leader K. Anbazhagan is trailing here while Deputy Chief Minister and Karunanidhi's son M.K. Stalin is leading over his rival. AIADMK and DMK are in a straight contest in around 80 seats.

According to trends, the AIADMK, which is contesting in 160 seats, is leading in the majority of seats. The assembly elections were held April 13.