Chandy Cabinet to take oath today

This was announced by UDF convener P P Thankachan here on Tuesday after three days of parleys between the Congress and the six other constituents of the front.

Others who will be sworn in along with chief minister designate Oommen Chandy are P K Kunhalikutty (Indian Union Muslim League), K M Mani (Kerala Congress-Mani), K P Mohanan (Socialist Janatha - Democratic),  T M Jacob (Kerala Congress - Jacob),  K B Ganeshkumar (Kerala Congress – Balakrishna Pillai) and Shibu Baby John ( RSP-Baby John). The swearing-in ceremony will take place at Raj Bhavan here at 2 pm. The remaining ministers will be sworn in on May 23.  

The Congress will have 10 ministers, including the CM while the IUML will have four cabinet representatives, the KC-M will have two and the four other smaller parties will have one each. Mani will get Finance, law and housing while his party colleague P J Joseph will be in charge of irrigation. The IUML will keep its old portfolios of  Industry, IT, Education, Public Works and Local administration. Mohanan will get agriculture,  Shibu (labour),  Jacob (Ports, Food and Civil Supplies) while K B Ganeshkumar will get Tourism.
A decision on the Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Parliamentary Affairs minister will be decided later.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)