Kiwis sail past India

Put in to bat, India scored 154 for 5 in their allotted 20 overs with Tiwary being the top scorer. The Bengal batsman and Abhishek Nayar (45), batting at number five and six respectively, were instrumental in taking India’s score past 150 after the top-order flopped against fast bowler Hamish Bennett (3/20).

New Zealand’s emerging players rattled up 156 for five, Colin de Grandhomme top-scoring with 60. Off-spinner R Ashwin took three for 22 from his four overs while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Amit Mishra took one wicket each.

Defending a competitive total, the Indian seamers failed to get the early breakthrough with Martin Guptill and De Grandhomme scoring freely.

De Grandhomme hit six fours and a six during his 45-ball innings. Ashwin struck two quick blows to keep India in the hunt but crucial knocks from wicket-keeper Reece Young and Kane Williamson lower down the order were enough to secure a win for New Zealand.
Brief Scores: India Emerging Players: 154/5 (Manoj Tiwary 51, Abhishek Nayar 45; Hamish Bennett 3-20) lt to New Zealand Emerging Players: 156/5 (Colin de Grandhomme 60; R Ashwin 3-22).

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0