ONGC enters Aga Khan final

ONGC enters Aga Khan final

Drag-flicker Diwakar Ram, who converted a penalty stroke, and Bikash Toppo scored the other two goals for the Delhi side in the first semi-final at the Bombay Gymkhana ground.
IOC got their goals, through second half efforts from Olympian Prabhjot Singh and Roshan Minz.

Playing like a well-gelled unit, ONGC took control of the proceedings from the outset and hardly allowed their opponents much opportunity to get back into the match.

ONGC went ahead in the very sixth minute when Akashdeep Singh scored with a reverse hit the first of his three goals. Diwarkar doubled the lead when he converted a penalty stroke in the 35th minute.

Umpire Javed Shaikh awarded the 'stroke' when Akashdeep was fouled by V Raghunath inside the circle.

IOC trailing by two goals, showed glimpses of a fight back and managed to reduce the margin through Prabhjot's firm angular hit off Raghunath's forward pass in the 43rd minute.

However, in the next minute, Akashdeep hit the target again to help ONGC maintain their two goal cushion.

Once again IOC fought back and managed to get their second goal in the 49th minute. After Olympian Deepak Thakur's try came back off the goalkeeper's pads international Roshan Minz tapped home the rebound to narrow the lead 2-3.The dominant ONGC produced two more goals in the final five minutes to seal their passage into the summit clash.

Akashdeep struck once again in the 66th minute to complete his hat-trick and then skipper Bikash Toppo rounded off the tally deflecting home Minz's hit from the left.
In Saturday's finals, ONGC will take on the winners of the second semi-final between Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL), Bangalore and South Central Railway (SCR), Secundrabad.

ONGC 5 (Akashdeep Singh 6th, 44th, 66th, Diwakar Ram 35th - PS, Bikash Toppo 69th) beat Indian Oil 2 (Prabhjot Singh 43rd, Roshan Minz 49th).