Airtel signs 5-year deal to become title sponsor of CL T20

Airtel signs 5-year deal to become title sponsor of CL T20

Under the deal, which the industry sources said is in the range (rpt range) of Rs 170 crore, Airtel will have rights on ground title sponsorship for a period of five years starting this year.

Officials of both Airtel and ESPN STAR Sports, commercial partners of Champions League T20, however, refused to divulge the exact amount of the deal.

A total 12 teams from seven Test playing nations will participate in the inaugural edition, which will be played across three venues in India -– Bangalore, New Delhi and Hyderabad -- from October 8.

The 16-day tournament, which will now be called Airtel Champions League Twenty20, will have 23 matches.

Commenting on the deal, Shireesh Joshi, Marketing Director Bharti Airtel said, "We are delighted to announce our partnership with ESPN on the title sponsorship of Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament. We have seen a great synergy between our brand and cricket, since both cater and connect to a wide spectrum of consumer segments.

"This synergy combined with the success of the Twenty20 format and the growing popularity of club cricket in India makes this a great opportunity for us to partner."

In order to simplify the logistics the teams that move into the second league phase will maintain their position from the earlier group stage.

The preliminary groupings are:
Group A: A1 - Deccan Chargers, Hyderabad (Ind), A2 - ECB2 (To be decided), A3 - Trinidad and Tobago (WI).
Group B: B1 - New South Wales Blues (Aus), B2 - Diamond Eagles (SA), B3 - ECB1 (To be decided).
Group C: C1 - Royal Challengers, Bangalore (Ind), C2 - Cape Cobras (SA), C3 - Otago Volts (NZ).
Group D: D1 - Delhi Daredevils (Ind), D2 - Victorian Bushrangers (Aus), D3 - Wayamba (SL).

The full match schedule is:
Oct 8: Royal Challengers, Bangalore v Cape Cobras at Bangalore - 8 pm.
Oct 9: NSW Blues v Diamond Eagles at Delhi - 4 pm
Delhi Daredevils v Victorian Bushrangers - 8pm
Oct 10: Cape Cobras v Otago Volts at Hyderabad - 4 pm
Deccan Chargers v ECB2 at Hyderabad - 8 pm
Oct 11: NSW Blues v ECB1 at Delhi - 4 pm
Delhi Daredevils v Wayamba at Delhi - 8pm
Oct 12: ECB2 v Trinidad and Tobago at Bangalore - 4 pm
Royal Challengers v Otago Volts at Bangalore - 8pm
Oct 13: Victorian Bushrangers v Wayamba at Delhi - 4 pm
Diamond Eagles v ECB1 at Delhi - 8pm
Oct 14: Deccan Chargers v Trinidad and Tobago - 8 pm

Second stage:
League A: A1, A2, B2, B2
League B: C1, C2, D1, D2
Oct 15: C1 v D2 (League B) at Bangalore - 8 pm
Oct 16: A2 v B2 (League A) at Hyderabad - 4 pm
A1 v B1 (League A) at Hyderabad - 8pm
Oct 17: C2 v D2 (League B) at Bangalore - 4 pm
C1 v D1 (League B) at Bangalore - 8pm
Oct 18: A2 v B1 (League A) at Hyderabad - 4 pm
A1 v B2 (League A) at Hyderabad - 8 pm
Oct 19: C2 v D1 (League B) at Delhi - 8 pm
Oct 21: Semi Final 1: Winners of League B v runners-up of
League A at Delhi - 8 pm
Oct 22: Semi Final 2: Winners of League A v runners-up of
League B at Hyderabad - 8 pm
Oct 23: Final: Winners of SF 1 and 2 at Hyderabad - 8 pm.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)