Mahela batters England

Having restricted England to a modest 136 for nine, the visitors cantered to victory with Jayawardene slamming an unbeaten 72 off 57 balls, including eight fours and a six. The classy right-hander was involved in an unbroken 97-run association with Kumar Sangakkara (43, 39b, 5x4) as Lanka replied with 137 for the loss of Jayasuriya in 17.2 overs.

Earlier, Kevin Pietersen and Eoin Morgan struck free-flowing 40s to help England muster a respectable total after the top-order, put into bat first, came a cropper. The hosts were reeling at 12 for two when two joined forces to revive the innings.

The left-right duo shared an 83-run partnership for the third wicket to bring the innings back on track but their dismissal in quick succession once again pushed England into the rut. Ravi Bopara was the only other batsman to get amongst double figures as English innings fell apart against a disciplined Lankan attack.



Lumb c Malinga b Lakmal    2
Kieswetter c Kandamby b K’kara    4
Pietersen b Jayasuriya    41
Morgan c J’dene b Malinga    47
Bopara b Jayasuriya    19
Patel (run out)    0
Wright c Perera b Lakmal    9
Woakes c Mathews b Malinga    7
Broad (run out)    0
Swann (not out)    0
Extras (B-3, W-3, NB-1)    7
Total (for 9 wkts, 20 overs)    136
Fall of wickets: 1-3, 2-12, 3-95, 4-101, 5-102, 6-125, 7-131, 8-136, 9-136.
Bowling: Kulasekara 3-0-15-1, Lakmal 4-0-26-2, Malinga 4-0-15-2, NLTC Perera 2-0-35-0, Randiv 4-0-24-0, Jayasuriya 3-0-18-2.


Jayawardene (not out)    72
Jayasuriya c P’sen b Dernbach    8
Sangakkara (not out)    43
Extras (LB-3, W-11)    14
Total (for 1 wkt, 17.2 overs)    137
Fall of wicket: 1-40.
Bowling: Chris Woakes 3-0-31-0, Jade Dernbach 3-0-18-1, Stuart Broad 3.2-0-29-0, Samit Patel 2-0-18-0, Graeme Swann 4-0-26-0, Ravi Bopara 2-0-12-0.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)