Santehalli, Jangamakote GPs get new prez, VP

Santehalli, Jangamakote GPs get new prez, VP

The president post which was reserved for candidate belonging to Scheduled Castes was won by Lakshmamma and vice-president post reserved for a General category woman was won by Shantamma.

The election was held as previous president and vice-president K Shobha and Nagaratna respectively, resigned from their posts as per the party’s internal agreement.

From both JD(S) and Congress Lakshmamma had filed the nomination for president post while from BJP Muniraju, a resident of the Nidaghatta village had filed the papers.
Lakshmamma defeated her rival with eight votes. She had secured 13 votes while her rival Muniraju pooled only five votes. Shantamma of Mailandahalli was elected unopposed to the vice-president’s post as she was the only person to file nomination, a Election 
Officer Badrinath has said.

Taluk Panchayat former vice-president Mailandahalli Srinivas, former president of Santehalli GP president Vijayendra, GP members Venkaswamy, M R Narayanswamy,  S M Ramesh, leaders Purasanahalli Srinivas, Amar, Ramachandra and Venkatesh were present. Assistant Election Officer Vishwanath Reddy, PDO Manjunath and  Secretary
Devaraj were in-charge of the election.


The second term elections for the posts of president and vice president of Jangamakote Gram Panchayat was held on Thursday.

Jayamma Muniappa was elected president and Aanjaneya Reddy as the vice president unopposed. Tahsildar Mallikarjun was also the Election Officer. District leader Rajanna, Channe Gowda, Laxminarayan, Murali, Manjunath, Shashi kumar, Kalyapur Aajinappa, Venkatareddy, Hireballa Krishnappa, J B Aanjinappa, and other panchayat members were present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)