Young Lions emerge champs

Young Lions emerge champs

Delighted bunch: Young Lions Club, winners of the KSCA Group I, Division III league tournament for Sri Nassur Memorial Shield. STANDING (from left): Venkatesh H, Sireesh Shetty, Vijay Kumar M, Nihal F Shilar, Sourabh Patil, BR Koushik, Shivraj Avate, Santhosh S Dalve, D Santhosh Kumar. SITTING: Giridhar V Koppikar, S Deepak, Immanuel Vasanth Kumar (captain), MK Seetharam (coach), Shanker V (secretary), Gopinath Saandra, M Mahesh, Kiran.

Young Lions were declared champions with 14 points after the latest set of matches, all of which ended indecisively.

Batting first, the Lions were bowled out for 205 against Jayanagar United, for whom Kiran (3/51) and Roshan (3/50) did the bulk of the damage. D Santhosh Kumar top-scored for the Lions with 62. Jayanagar made a strong reply, but ran out of time at 156 for three.

Brief scores: Young Lions Club: 205 all out in 49.1 overs (D Santhosh Kumar 62, Giridhar V Koppikar 49, H Venkatesh 28; Kiran 3-51, Roshan 3-50) drew Jayanagar United Cricketers: 156/3 in 45 overs (Ajendra 88, Saibal 27, Tejas 26 n.o.; Shivaraj Avate 2-8). Young Lions 1 pt, Jayanagar United 1.

Visweswarampuram Cricket Club (1): 213/9 in 55 overs (Chadru 35, Sohail 67, Shivu 29, Md Wasim 26, Harish 26; P Srinivasamurthy 7-80) drew Sri Jayachamarajendra CC: 59/4 in 24 overs (Rehamathulla Khan 3-24). Visweswarampuram (1) 1 pt, Sri Jayachamarajendra 1.

Select Cricketers: 116 all out in 37 overs (Yathiraj 25, Kumar Datta 30 n.o.; Varun Reddy 2-24, Pramod 5-25, Prasanna Patil 2-13) drew Chamarajpet Cricket Club: 42/2 in 17.2 overs. Select 1 pt, Chamarajpet 1.

Dolphin Cricketers drew Bangalore Sports Club. Match abandoned without a ball being bowled. Dolphin 1 pt, BSC 1.

Standard Cricket Club drew Cavaliers Cricket Club. Match abandoned without a ball being bowled. Standard 1 pt, Cavaliers 1.

Friends XI CC, Doddaballapura: 252/6 in 55 overs (Tilak Karthik 103 n.o., Anil Kumar M 46, GM Rishab 36; Abdul Bari 2-56, Mushirb 2-60) drew Wadiyar Cricket Club: 160/5 in 30 overs (HS Ravi 25, Anthony 37 n.o., Jayanath 54 n.o.; Karthik Prakash 2-26, Raj 2-34). Friends XI 1 pt, Wadiyar 1.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)