Race for 12 berths hots up

Gowda is likely to discuss the issue with State BJP President K S Eshwarappa, former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj Minister Jagadish Shettar soon after his arrival from New Delhi in Bangalore on Wednesday. Only six to eight candidates are likely to be inducted in the second round of the Cabinet expansion, which is expected to take place on Thursday or Friday.

In an attempt to grab a ministerial berth, D N Jee­varaj, MLA of Sringeri Assembly constituency, submitted his resignation to the post of Chief Whip. Another MLA, C T Ravi from the same district of Chikmgalur is also in the race.

Ravi has the backing of Eshwarappa, while Jeevaraj is a close aide of  Sadananda Gowda.

Balachandra Jarkiholi camp is demanding its share for supporting the government during the crucial trust vote following the Governor recommending President’s Rule in the State.

Sources said the long-pending demand of Independent MLA Varthur Prakash to be inducted into the Cabinet is likely to be fulfilled. Another candidate recommended by Reddy brothers is also likely to get a berth, sources added.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)