Johnson destroys Lanka

Johnson, who came on to bowl as the sixth bowler, took a wicket off his third ball and went on to scythe through Sri Lanka who were dismissed for 191 in 41.1 overs.

Australia knocked the runs off with the experienced pair Ricky Ponting and skipper Michael Clarke easing their side to victory with an unbroken stand of 101 for the third wicket. Ponting was out for 53 scored off 71 balls, his 80th ODI fifty, with Australia needing nine for victory.

Clarke finished the match off with an unbeaten 53 off 78 balls, which contained only a solitary four, with Mike Hussey. Australia were given a rousing start by Shane Watson, who cracked a brilliant 69 off 51 balls including six sixes and five fours before Sri Lanka broke through.

Sri Lanka got off to a good start after winning the toss with Upul Tharanga (34) and Tillakaratne Dilshan (29) sharing an opening partnership of 54 off 58 balls. But the late order batsmen paid the penalty for some injudicious stroke play.

Score Board
Tharanga b Doherty    34
Dilshan c Bollinger b D Hussey    29
Sangakkara c Smith b Johnson    16
Jayawardene c Haddin b Johnson    3
Chandimal c Clarke b Bollinger    12
Mathews c Watson b Johnson    15
Mendis b Johnson    2
Randiv c Doherty b Johnson    41
Kulasekara c M Hussey b Lee    34
Mendis b Johnson    0
Lakmal (not out)    0
Extras (LB-3, W-2)    5
Total (all out, 41.1 overs)    191
Fall of wickets: 1-54, 2-76, 3-80, 4-89, 5-101, 6-112, 7-117, 8-177, 9-177. Bowling: Lee 7.1-0-33-1, Bollinger 7-1-34-1, Watson 2-0-12-0, Doherty 10-1-48-1, Hussey 2-0-12-1, Johnson 10-1-31-6, Steven Smith 3-0-18-0.
Watson c Jayawardene b Randiv    69
Haddin b Mendis    12
Ponting b Randiv    53
Clarke (not out)    53
Hussey (not out)    2
Extras (LB-1, W-2)    3
Total (3 wickets; 38.1 overs)    192
Fall of wickets: 1-59, 2-81, 3-182.
Bowling: Kulasekara 5-1-21-0, Lakmal 5- 0-39-0, Mendis 6-0-32-1, Randiv 8.1-0-44-2, 9-0-37-0, Dilshan 5-1-18-0. 

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)