Indians ride on Sandeep brace to pip Belgium

Indians ride on Sandeep brace to pip Belgium

Sandeep sounded the board in 32nd and 64th minute while Hari Prasad (8th) and Rajpal Singh (55th) scored one each for India. Belgium scored through Tom Boon (4th), Cedric Charlier (11th) and Jeff Thys (18th).

India had lost the first encounter 3-6. Belgium earned their first penalty corner two minutes later when Sardar Singh playing as the freeman, committed a defensive error.

Resultant flick struck VS Vinaya leading to a penalty stroke which was converted by Boon to give Belgium the lead in fourth minute.

Hari Prasad found the mark in eighth minute to level the score.

Charlier who beat D’souza from the top of the circle to give Belgium the lead again in 11th minute. The tally was further increased after seven minute after Jeff Thys got past both Vikram Pillay and Gurbaj Singh and beat D’souza low to his right.

However, India scored their second goal in the 32nd minute when Sandeep sank a penalty corner to the right of Vincent. Rajpal Singh made amends as he flicked past Vincent from a penalty corner in the 55th minute.

India’s match winner came from their last penalty corner after Chandi was fouled in the 64th minute. Sandeep fired home with aplomb.