Kodagu district gears up for Madikeri Dasara

Various committees, sub committees formed

(Left)Madikeri CMC President H M Nanda Kumar speaking at a preparatory meeting on Dasara

“Special efforts will be made to get special grant from the government. With the effort of Assembly Speaker K G Bopaiah, the government had released a sum of Rs 40 lakh last year. Dasara will be observed as Janotsava,” he said

A budget of Rs 80 lakh has been prepared this year. A meeting will be convened with the Assembly Speaker and MLA to meet Chief Minister D V Sadananda Gowda to seek for additional funds.

He said “special emphasis will be given to Dashamantapa procession during Dasara.”
Committee honourary President M B Devaiah said there has been delay in presenting last year’s budget as members are not showing much interest. This has resulted in delay in getting the grant from the government.” He expressed displeasure over delay in the work on Bannimantapa.

He said “it would be better to organise one Dasara in the district. By organising Dasara at two places, the government would divide the funds.”

Working President S C Subramani said the work on Banni Mantapa has commenced. A Dashamantapa committee office has been opened. Owing to the shortage of funds, the work on Banni Mantapa could not be undertaken.

P D Ponnappa said that there was a need to take a delegation to the government to get the funds sanctioned for Dasara. Committee General Secretary B P Pradeep read out last year’s Dasara report.

Muneer Ahemed said “earlier Dasara was observed in a secular manner. However, now it has lost its charm. The cultural programmes have failed to attract people. Instead of spending lakhs on orchestra, it is better to organise programme which will highlight our culture and tradition.”

Honourary President Chidwilas said Madikeri Dasara Committee bylaw was prepared in 1989. There is a need to amend it.

When last year Dasara Committe’s treasurer A C Devaiah presented the budget, there was confusion in the meeting as Chartered Accountants’ approval letter was not given to the members.


Madikeri CMC President H M Nandakumar was elected as the president of Madikeri Dasara Committee. Robin Devaiah as working president of Dashamantapa Committee, I G Shivakumari, P C Madhuraiah, D A Nagesg (vice-presidents), B P Pradeep (general secretary), Manu Manjunath (secretary), Mahesh Jain (joint secretary), B K Arun Kumar (treasurer). Even sub committees were constituted on the occasion.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)