Shivani, Rahul grab AITA titles

Shivani, Rahul grab AITA titles

Karnataka players made a clean sweep, winning all the four titles. Second seed Rahul powered past sixth seed Vibhuvarsh T 6-1, 6-3 in the boys’ final.

The third seed in the girls’ section, Shivani ended the title dreams of second seed Nupur Umashankar with a 6-2, 6-2 victory.

Vibhuvarsh and Umashankar, however, made amends for their defeats by claiming the respective boys and girls doubles crowns.

Vibhuvarsh teamed-up with Alok Aradya to outclass Rahul and Karthik S 6-1, 6-2 while Umashankar and Lakshmi Nikitha had to sweat it out before prevailing over Hrishika Rajesh and Soha S 7-5, 4-6, 10-6.

Results (finals, prefix number denotes seeding, all Karnataka players): Boys: 2-B S Rahul bt 6-Vibhuvarsh T 6-1, 6-3. Doubles: Alok Aradya/ Vibhuvarsh bt B S Rahul/ Karthik S 6-1, 6-2.

Girls: 3-Shivani Manjanna bt 2-Nupur Umashankar 6-2, 6-2.

Doubles: Nupur Umashankar/ Lakshmi Nikitha bt Hrishika Rajesh/ Soha S 7-5, 4-6, 10-6.