JD(S) captures power in Srinivaspur TP

JD(S) captures power in Srinivaspur TP

B M Srinivas and Lakshmidevamma have been elected as the President and Vice-President of Srinivaspur taluk panchayat on Monday. Tahsildar Manjunath, Assistant Commissioner Peddappaiah and EO Prakash are seen. DH PhotoB M Srinivas and Lakshmidevamma were elected as the new President and Vice-president for the TP,  in the elections held for the third term.

Of the 17 members in the Taluk Panchayat, nine were from Congress and eight from JD(S). Being in majority, the power was in the hands of Congress.

However, Krishnappa, a Congress member representing Yadaruru shifted his allegiance to JD(S) during election and as a consequence, JD(S) captured power in the Taluk Panchayat.

Taluk Panchayat former president M Venkataswamy from Congress  had also submitted his nomination for the president post.

Assistant Commissioner Peddappaiah, Taluk Panchayat Executive Officer Prakash and Tahsildar Manjunath Swamy were present on the occasion.

Legislator G K Venkatashivareddy congragulated the new president and vice-president and advised them to work for the all round progress of the taluk.

New president B M Srinivas spoke on the occasion.

Zilla Panchayat president M Srinivas and  member G Rajanna, taluk panchayat member Rajashekarareddy and others were present.