Mayookha wins 2nd gold, betters meet record in triple jump

Mayookha wins 2nd gold, betters meet record in triple jump

Asian Games gold medallist and national record holder Sudha Singh, who was aiming for an Olympics berth from the meet, had to return home empty-handed as only two competitors turned up for 3000m steeplechase and the event had to be cancelled.

The day also witnessed a curious case in men's 400m hurdles as Satender Singh and Avin A Thomas were adjudged gold medallists after a dead heat. In a rare case, they could not be separated in the photo finish and both were awarded a gold each after clocking an identical51.49s.

In red hot form after her effort of 14.11m in the Asian Athletics Championships in Japan in July, Mayookha had a modest effort of 13.71m but that was enough to better her own meet mark of 13.54m.

The 23-year-old from Kerala, who was representing ONGC, had bagged her first gold in the long jump event on the opening day.

There was nobody to stand up against Mayookha after former national record holder M A Prajusha pulled out in the last minute following cramps.

Mayookha has already secured a place in triple jump for the next year's London Olympics.
Kerala made a clean sweep in the women's pole vault event with Anoosha K K, Anusha K P and Dija K C securing the gold, silver and bronze medals respectively.


Men: 20km walk: 1. Surinder Singh (Pun; 1::29:03.90); 2. Babu Bhai (SSCB; 1::30:10.60); 3. Chandan Singh (SSCB; 1::34:25.    70).

Hammer Throw: 1. Harvinder Singh Dagar (ONGC; 63.37m); 2. Nirbhay Singh (SSCB; 63.32m); 3. Shiv Kumar (Uttr; 61.51m).

400m Hurdles: 1. Satender Singh (Rlys; 51.49); 2. Avin A Thomas (Rlys; 51.49); 3. Shejil Verghese (SSCB; 51.95).

Shot put: 1. Om Prakash Singh (ONGC; 19.45m); 2. Sourabh Vij (ONGC; 18.17m); 3. Tejinder Singh (Pun; 18.01m).

Women: Heptathlon: 1. Sindhu K D (MP; 4958); 2. Purnima Hembram (Ori; 4953); 3. Antana Khatun (Ben; 4863).

400m Hurdles: 1. Bhupinder Kaur (Pun; 1:00.64); 2. Anu R (Ker; 1:01.00); 3. Anju Rani (1:01.65).

Triple Jump: 1. Mayookha Johny (ONGC; 13.71m) NMR; 2. Neethu Methew (MP; 13.24m); 3 Shradha Ghule (Mah; 12.85m).

Pole vault: 1. Anoosha K K (Ker; 3.40m); 2. Anusha K P (Ker; 3.40m); 3. Dija K C (Ker; 3.30m).