Loyola College champs

Loyola College champs

Ashwin dazzles in 75-run victory over Vijaya College

CHAMPIONS! Loyola College, Chennai, winners of the All-India College Premier League. STANDING (from left): Sarvesh, Joel, Rajanikanth, Kevin, Madan, Thabarak, Murali, Ashwin. KNEELING: Francis, Vinay Gupta, Giripal, Avaikarasan.Needing 194 for victory, Vijaya could muster only 118 for 8 in 20 overs. The pressure of chasing a big score became evident as one Vijaya batsman after the other fell without making an impact, leaving the Chennai outfit comfortable victors.

Electing to bat first, Loyola posted 193 for 3 in the stipulated 20 overs with Ashwin slamming a superb 70 off 50 balls, studded with eight boundaries and three sixes. The right-hander was well-supported by Madan Mohan and Murali, who came up with impressive cameos.

Madan and Ashwin shared an opening wicket partnership of 89 before the former was run out after cracking a fine 43 off 29 balls, with five hits to the fence and two over it. The duo started off in solid fashion, with 66 coming off the first ten overs. After Madan departed, Murali joined Ashwin and sent the Vijaya bowlers on a leather hunt.
Ashwin was particularly strong down the ground and Vijaya pacers Krishna, Dennis and Bhuvanesh lost the plot on a flat surface.

Puneet finally dismissed Ashwin but the relief in the Vijaya camp did not last long as Murali took over. His 46 off 40 balls, including four big sixes, raised the Chennai team’s total to imposing proportions, with 21 runs coming in the final over bowled by Dennis.
Vijaya, in their reply, lost three wickets cheaply and reached 67 for four in ten overs. The task kept getting tougher with every passing over and with Loyola keeping a tight check on the run flow, defeat became inevitable for the Bangalore team.

In the semifinals earlier, Vijaya College defeated SJCC by two runs in a thriller while Loyola knocked out SBMJC with a two-wicket win.

Brief scores, final: Loyola College, Chennai: 193/3 in 20 overs (Ashwin 70, Murali 46, Madan Mohan 43) bt Vijaya College: 118/8 in 20 overs (Joel 3-23, Giripal 1-5).
Semifinals: Vijaya College: 167/4 in 20 overs (Zohar 71, Krishna 61, Neelesh 2-28) bt SJCC: 165/6 in 20 overs (Abhijeeth 55, Bharath 26; Anil 2-46); SBMJC: 148/5 in 20 overs (Abbas 58, Liyan Khan 34) lost to Loyola College, Chennai: 149/8 in 20 overs (Avai­karasan 33, Kevin 33; Zahoor 2-20, Nikith 2-24).