Telangana row haunts Andhra CM

Telangana row haunts Andhra CM

Arrest of ministers, MLAs & MP adds fuel to the fire

What added fuel to the boiling issue was the Monday’s arrest of ministers, MLAs and an MP who organised a dharna in front of the State Power Generation Corporation.

While two ministers, Jupally Krishna Rao and Komtireddy Venkat Reddy, had already resigned on Telangana issue, the CM’s alleged lack of leadership qualities to win over his Cabinet colleagues from both Telangana and Coastal Andhra region has further aggravated the situation.

The open rejoinder of Union Minister Jaipal Reddy that Kiran Kumar Reddy had never sought more gas to compensate loss in power generation due to strike in Telangana has only created rift between the Telangana leaders and the chief minister.

The CM alleged that MPs  from the region had approached Jaipal Reddy to stop gas allocation to the state.

Kiran Reddy has already distanced himself from all the senior ministers of the former YSR cabinet.

PCC chief Botsa Satyanarayana has declared himself as a semi-CM while deputy chief minister Raja Narasimha is an unhappy  man after being rejected the Home portfolio.
Meanwhile,  textiles minister P Shankar Rao, son-in-law of former CWC member G Venkatswamy, once again hit the headlines for his controversial comments on the CM.

In a letter to party president Sonia Gandhi on Friday, the minister blamed the chief minister for allegedly protecting the “corrupt ministers of YSR Cabinet and allowing to hold  key positions in the state.”

On Monday, addressing a press conference at the state secretariat, he blamed the CM for shielding Home Minister Sabitha Indra Reddy who is accused of offering posts in the police department for a price.

On Monday, Andhra Pradesh secretariat resounded to traditional Telangana songs as the protest for Telangana state reached the doorstep of the chief minister’s office.

A group of women employees in front of the C block, which houses the chief minister's office, did the traditional “bathukamma”  dance. Another group of striking employees, wearing black blindfolds, shouted slogans against the CM.

State Minister for Infrastructure K Venkata Reddy, S Rajaiah and Ponnam Prabhakar, Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) legislators K Tarakarama Rao and E Rajender reached there to express their solidarity with the employees.