Govt reconstitutes RBI Board, inducts 7 new members

Govt reconstitutes RBI Board, inducts 7 new members

Dipankar Gupta, former JNU professor, Najeeb Jung, Vice- Chancellor of Jamia Millia Islamia and Ela Bhatt, founder and General Secretary of non-governmental organisation SEWA have found place on the Board, RBI said in a release.

The other new directors are Indira Rajaraman, professor Emeritus at National Institute of Public Finance & Policy and Kiran Karnik, former Chairman of NASSCOM.

The seven new directors have been appointed for a period of four years, RBI said, adding that K M Birla, chairman of Aditya Birla Group of Companies, Azim Premji, chairman of WIPRO, H P Ranina, Supreme Court Advocate and Lakshmi Chand, former bureaucrat would continue on the Board.

The new induction follows retirement of M M Sharma, Sanjay Labroo, Suresh Kumar Neotia, A Vaidyanathan, U R Rao and Y H Malegam from RBI's Central Board.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)