Centre forms group of ministers on trade pact

Centre forms group of ministers on trade pact

The GoM will be headed by Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee.

India and 10 Asean countries today signed a Free Trade Agreement in Bangkok.
The setting up of the GoM follows a decision by the Union cabinet last month  that the government would assess the adverse fallout of the agreement on sensitive items.

“It was decided on July 23 Cabinet meeting that before the agreement comes into force, appropriate measures, including structural reforms in vulnerable areas like rubber, spices and tea, could be looked into,” official sources said.

Special invitees
Besides Mukherjee, the GoM will include Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar, Defence Minister A K Antony, Home Minister P Chidmabaram, Law Minister Veerappa Moily and Overseas Indian Affairs Minster Vayalar Ravi, Labour Minister Mallikarjun Kharge, Commerce and Industry Minister Anand Sharma, Rural Development Minister C P Joshi.

It would also include two special invitees - Planning Commission Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia and Environment Minister Jairam Ramesh.