Music Reviews

Nothing unique, nothing exciting either

Take a black American attractive young girl, make her sing some funky music for the dance floor, add downbeat drums and bass, have numerous collaborations with some established stars and what you get is another diva in the mould of Beyonce, Rihanna and the like — clones of the earliest such divas, Janet Jackson.

Fantasy ride is Ciara’s (sounds like Sierra) third album after Goodies (2004)  and The Evolution (2006).  The album features appearances by Justin Timberlake, Ludacris, Chris Brown, Young Jeezy, The-Dream. The collaborations and musical pastiche give variety to the album, but deprives the main artiste of a distinct stamp.

The opening ‘Ciara to the stage’ is an R&B style mid-tempo song but a bit two long for an intro song. In ‘High price’ featuring Ludacris, Ciara attempts opera-style vocals but with little effect. The track ‘Turntables’ featuring Chris Brown has a sample from A R Rahman’s song ‘Kehna Hi Kya’ from the film Bombay (1995). ‘Like a Surgeon’ is a slow jam R&B track, while ‘Never Ever’ featuring Young Jeezy and ‘Lover’s thing’ are mid-tempo R&B tracks.

‘Work’ and ‘Pucker up’ are dancefloor tracks featuring Missy Elliott. In ‘G is for Girls (A-Z)’  Ciara advises girls to tantalise, but don’t get too close or get lost. ‘Keep dancin’ on me’ is a light and breezy slow jam. ‘I Don’t Remember’ has interesting lyrics (Got the same clothes on today/ That I had on yesterday/What did I do, what I say/ Man I don’t remember/ Guess I had too much to drink/ ‘Cause I don’t remember), but is not a great song. ‘Tell me what your name is’ is a pop song with heavy beats in which Ciara plays the bold girl asking for your name. ‘Echo’ is a dancefloor track in which Ciara truly shines.

Fantasy Ride
Sony Music

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0