'Away' players at a price

'Away' players at a price

As many as nine cricketers qualify for two teams and according to the new rule, the ‘away’ team will have to pay $200,000 to a player’s ‘home’ team to retain his service, the CL T20 Governing Council announced on Tuesday.

However, the ‘away’ teams are not eligible for compensation if a player chooses to play for his ‘home’ team, said the organisers as the teams are set to announce their 20-player squads for the tournament starting on October 8.

“These qualification rules ensure players will have a choice, subject to existing contracts, of who they represent in CL T20. The $200,000 compensation paid to ‘home’ teams will create significant interest in the lead-up to the squad announcements,” Dean Kino, CL T20 Governing Council member and Director of Legal and Business Affairs said.

Dwayne Smith plays for the Deccan Chargers and the Sussex Sharks, both of whom have qualified for the Champions League, and he has the right to choose which team he plays for. However, since neither is his home side, the other team will not receive any compensation.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore have two players with conflicts -- Nathan Bracken of NSW Blues and Cameron White of Victoria Bushrangers.

Conflict players: Nathan Bracken (NSW Blues, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Brendon McCullum (Otago Bolts, NSW Blues), Dirk Nannes (Victoria Bushrangers, Delhi Daredevils), David Warner (NSW Blues, Delhi Daredevils), Cameron White (Victoria Bushrangers, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Andrew McDonald (Victoria Bushrangers, Delhi Daredevils), Herschelle Gibbs (Cape Cobras, Deccan Chargers), Farveez Maharoof (Wayamba, Delhi Daredevils) and Dwayne Smith (Deccan Chargers, Sussex Sharks).