Amit Verma saves Karnataka the blushes

Amit Verma saves Karnataka the blushes

At stumps on day one of the two-day tie, Vidarbha had reached 38 for one in reply to Karnataka’s modest 226, needing a further 189 runs for full points from the tie. Having been saved by the weather in their previous game against TNCA President’s XI, Karnataka did not make the most of their good fortune. Deepak Chougule won his second toss of the tournament, this time at CPT-IP grounds, but while several in the top-order, including the skipper, got off to starts, no one really kicked on.

Last-game centurion Amit Verma, the left-hander, top-scored again with 60 (88b, 9x4), Karnataka being undone by a combination of offie Akshay Wakhare (4/77), Ravi Jangid (4/45) and skipper Alind Naidu, who took five catches in the slip cordon.

Brief scores: Karnataka: 226 all out in 81.3 overs (KB Pawan 45, Deepak Chougule 36, Amit Verma 60; Akshay Wakhare 4-77, Ravi Jangid 4-45) vs Vidarbha: 38/1 in 11 overs.
Mumbai: 313 all out in 88.2 overs (Sahil Kukreja 157 n.o., Sushant Marathe 58; M Prabhu 4-87, R Naresh 3-52) vs TNCA President’s XI.

TNCA XI: 176 all out in 59.3 overs (S Badrinath 89; Anand Rajan 3-42, Shantanu Pitra 3-44) vs Madhya Pradesh: 121/2 in 29. 2 overs (Jalaj Saxena 68 n.o., Rameez Khan 28).
Assam: 254 all out in 81.5 overs (Dhiraj Goswami 134; Rishi Dhawan 3-46) vs Himachal Pradesh: 11/2 in 6 overs (Abu Nazim Ahmed 2-2).

Combined Districts: 359/8 in 90 overs (KB Arun Karthik 86, S Sureshkumar 95, K Sriram 48, MK Sivakumar 70 n.o.; Shane Bond 3-26 vs NZ.

Baroda: 213/9 in 90 overs (Sarthak Mundhva 57, Utkarsh Patel 29; GVS Prasad 3-64, G Sankar Rao 3-64) vs Andhra: 26/1 in 5 overs.

Kerala: 303 all out in 89.3 overs (Sambasiva Sarma 53, Robert Fernandez 62, Sreekumar Nair 58, Rohan Prem 82; Kamlesh Makwana 3-59, Ravindra Jadeja 3-60) vs Saurashtra.
Hyderabad: 373/8 in 90 overs (Abhinav Kumar 112, Benjamin Thomas 48, AT Rayudu 133; Rakesh Mohanty 5-61, Santosh Jena 2-44) vs Orissa.