Regulator identifies 11 unsafe airports

Regulator identifies 11 unsafe airports

“Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) has identified 11 airports which were considered critical from flight operations point of view,” Ravi said in a written reply to the Rajya Sabha.

The airports under the vulnerable list include: Leh, Kullu, Shimla, Port Blair, Agartala, Lengpui, Calicut, Mangalore, Jammu, Patna and Latur.

“The airport systems, facilities and procedures were thoroughly reviewed by the DGCA to enhance safety of the aircraft operations at these airports,” Ravi said.

“Inspection of these airports was carried out by teams of officials from flight operations directorate and aerodrome standards directorate,” he added.

Moreover, the minister also said that DGCA’s several recommendations to enhance safety had been adopted at these airports. “The following suggestions have been implemented --provision of runway end safety area, ensuring proper markings on the runway and proper maintenance of the basic strip,” he said.