Bypolls record high turnout, peaceful

Around 50 per cent voter turnout was registered in the Kolkata South parliamentary constituency where also a bypoll was held. By-elections were held for two Assembly seats each in Haryana and Himachal Pradesh and one each in Odisha, Bihar, Jharkhand and Karnataka.

The Kolkata South parliamentary bypoll saw over 50 per cent voting. The bypoll was necessitated after West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee vacated the seat on her election to the state legislature. State Trinamool president and Minister Subrata Bakshi, who quit as legislator from Bhowanipore to pave the way for his party leader’s maiden entry into the Assembly, is the party candidate for this bypoll.

Haryana’s Adampur and Ratia constituencies witnessed brisk polling. More than the numbers in the state Assembly, the incumbent Congress under B S Hooda as chief minister is fighting to maintain his and the party’s prestige. Only recently, the Congress in Haryana lost the Hisar Lok Sabha seat to the BJP-Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC) combine after Anna Haraze’s team actively campaigned.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)