Jain University clinch crown

Jain University clinch crown

Hosts Jain University claimed the overall championship at Vagus Vie 2012, the All-India Sports Fest, with 41 points on the concluding day here on Wednesday.

Jain clinched the men’s tennis title with their ‘A’ team overwhelming SSN College 2-0 in the final at the Rajiv Gandhi Sports Complex. Sagar defeated Viveka 6-3, 6-3 and later combined with Vasanth to demolish Vishwajit and Avinash 6-2, 6-2 in the doubles encounter.

In the men’s cricket final, it was disappointment for Jain as Presidency College beat them by 36 runs at the HAL ground. Batting first, Presidency posted a competitive 237 for nine in 50 overs with Aman Raj top-scoring with 47 and Nischal, Suhail and Rajkumar making 37 apiece.

Chasing 238 for the title, Jain lost wickets at regular intervals to be bowled out for 201 in 43 overs. KV Siddarth struck 59 and Abrar Kazi contributed 40 runs to take the hosts past 200. Ajay Singh was the chief wrecker for Presidency, picking up three for 27 and Suhail scalped a couple for 26 runs.

Annamalai University won the hockey event, outplaying DB Jain College 3-1 in the final at the KSHA stadium. Murugan slammed the first goal for Annamalai in the 24th minute. DB Jain equalised in the 42nd minute when R Rajkumar sounded the board.  
But Rafeeq and Manoj finished the game off for Annamalai with goals in the 58th and 66th minutes respectively.

Results (all finals): Hockey: Annamalai University: 3 (Murugan 24th, Rafeeq 58th, Manoj 66th) bt DB Jain College: 1 (R Rajkumar 42nd). Third place playoff: St Joseph’s Commerce College: 4 (Rathan Muthanna 19th) bt SBM Jain College: 3 (Mohammad Naeemuddin 24th) via tie-breaker. FT: 1-1.

Tennis: Men: Jain University ‘A’ bt SSN College 2-0 (Sagar bt Viveka 6-3, 6-3; Vasanth/ Sagar bt Vishwajit/ Avinash 6-2, 6-2).

Women: Jain University bt SRM University 2-0 (Shalaka bt Sangita 6-2, 6-2; Prarthana/ Shalaka bt Lekha/ Chitra 6-4, 6-4).

Table Tennis: Men: SSN College of Engineering bt SRM University 3-1 (Senthil Kumar bt Vivek 3-0, Manohar K lt to N Aditya 1-3; Senthil/ Manohar bt Anish/ Vivek 3-2; Senthil bt N Aditya 3-0). 

Women: SSN College of Engineering bt Jain University 3-2 (Subhadra lt to Aishwarya R Bidri 2-3; Kavya bt Arpita BS 3-0; Divya/ Kavya lt to Aishwarya R Bidri/ Arpita 1-3; Subhadra bt Arpita 3-0; Kavya bt Aishwarya R Bidri 3-1). 

Cricket: Men: Presidency College: 237/9 in 50 overs (Aman Raj 47, MP Nischal 37, Suhail 37, Rajkumar 37; Karun Nair 4-39,  Daniel Sequeira 2-32, Abrar Kazi 2-44) bt Jain University: 201 all out in 43 overs (KV Siddarth 59, Abrar Kazi 40, Chiranjeevi 30; Ajay Singh 3-27, Suhail 2-26). 

Women: Maharani Laxmi Ammani College: 98 all out in 18 overs (Hema 5-28, Pooja 4-30) bt NMKRV College: 62 all out in 19.3 overs (Pallavi 7-26).

Basketball: Men: GRD, Coimbatore: 67 (Karthik 14) bt Jain University: 61 (Varun 10); GRD: 57 (Jacob 16) bt SRM University: 47 (Carmel 20); Jeppiar College, Chennai: 67 (Kevin 24) bt Jain University: 52 (Visu 20).
Women: SRM University: 36 (Rahila Begum 18) bt Jain University: 27 (Simonelle 15); MOP Vaishnav, Chennai: 46 (Alaghu Mozhi 11) bt Jain University: 21 (Simonelle 8); SRM University: 46 (Rahila Begum 16) bt Mount Carmel College: 38 (Kruthika 19).   
Badminton: Men: Jain University bt Surana College 2-0 (Aditya Prakash bt RN Suraj 21-18, 21-17; Prakash Jolly/ Aditya Prakash bt RN Suraj/ Kamaldeep Singh 21-13, 21-17).   

Women: Jain University bt SSN College of Engineering 2-0 (Uttara Prakash bt Suneri 21-14, 21-11; Uttara Prakash/ Poorvisha S Ram bt Suneri/ Pavitra 21-18, 21-14).     
Volleyball: SRM University bt Sathyabhama University, Chennai 3-2 (25-21, 25-16, 21-25, 25-27, 15-10).

Overall champions: Jain University: 41 points.
Best players: Badminton: Men: Prakash Jolly (Jain). Women: Uttara Prakash (Jain). Athletics: Men: Salman Abbas (Jain). Women: Taranya (MOP Vaishnav). Cricket: Men: Ajay Singh (Presidency). Women: Krithika Hariharan (Mount Carmel). Table tennis: Men: Senthil Kumar R (SSN College). Women: Kavya (SSN). Swimming: Men: N Aravind (Velammal College). Women: Ashwini (BNMIT). Tennis: Men: Vasanth (Jain). Women: Prarthana Pratap (Jain). Softball: Aiyappa SP (PESSE). Football: Anup (SJASC). Basketball: Men: Shashank (Jeppiyar College). Women: Apoorva Murlinath (MOP Vaishnav). Volleyball: Anurag Naik (Satyabhama). Hockey: Megha (DB Jain College).